F#*k Fridays

Posted on Updated on

This week has felt like one long sobriety test (pun intended) but I have decided that Friday, is by far, my least favorite day of the week (this might be because school hasn’t started and I am a teacher). I had a shit day on Wednesday and couldn’t find anyone to watch my kids so I could go to a meeting. Grrr. My solution was pizza and wings (better than bourbon, right?). I made it through. Thursday, conversely, was a wonderful day. I usually go to an AA meeting on Thursday (or at least that is the day I have “committed” to meeting attendance) but I was feeling so good that I decided to skip it. Friday (Today), however, sucked on a near biblical level. All day, thoughts of Friday “happy hour”drinks kept popping into my head. I spent the day with a really good friend, but she is a normie so I didn’t feel totally comfortable giving her a play by play of the inner workings of my alcoholic brain (although we did have a cool conversation about HPs).

The day went smoothly until it didn’t. Within an hour, I found out my dad was in the hospital and my children (6 and 4), who had behaved all day, lost their minds and turned into demon children right before my eyes. The icing on the cake was that my son decided to bring our very large, very untrained, very unworldly dogs out into the front yard on a leash. The dogs, being utter morons and weighing around 200 lbs together, took off down a huge hill that leads directly to a busy street. It was utter chaos featuring a cacophony of  of screaming children and their very angry, very freaked out (flip flop wearing- not conducive to chasing dogs down a hill) mom. No wonder the dogs made a run for it. It all miraculously turned out ok (the dogs are ok and I didn’t sell my children) but holy fucking hell did I want a drink after all of that.

On one of the messages my dad left from the hospital, he said he was proud of me for going to AA and encouraged me to keep going. Hubby watched the wee ones and I attended a meeting. It was my favorite meeting so far and I feel much, much better. I survived the afternoon from hell without bourbon, beer or wine! Woo-hoo!

I have been going to meeting for a couple of weeks and I feel like I might like to try out the whole sponsor thing. How does that work? Do you ask someone or wait until they offer? I feel like the little bird in “Are you my mother?” when I consider asking someone… Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank goodness Friday is almost OVER!

Image

7 thoughts on “F#*k Fridays

    runningfromthebooze said:
    August 9, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    And here I was feeling all sorry for myself because I had a bad Thursday. I’m proud of you, too Maya. Keep kicking booze in the ass or smacking it with a flip flop.

    itwasjudith said:
    August 10, 2013 at 3:01 am

    you’ve done very well, congratulations 🙂
    I’m not familiar with the sponsor thing, but i found out for my own experience, that sometimes it’s necessary to ask people for help when important, and there is no shame in doing so. Is it a sponsor a sort of mentor? if that’s the case, I’d say that it needs to be someone you feel comfortable with and there are good vibes between you both.
    all the best

    carrythemessage said:
    August 10, 2013 at 7:41 am

    this too shall pass…. 🙂

    Hoping you have a groovy weekend!

    Paul

    El Guapo said:
    August 10, 2013 at 10:33 am

    Good for you for keeping it together!
    (And make sure yo get a good price if you do sell the kids. Like “condo in the tropics” good.)

    themiracleisaroundthecorner said:
    August 10, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Glad to hear the week at least wrapped up okay. I think you will get a lot out of the sponsor experience, I know I did. The analogy of “are you my Mother?” had me laughing, and will keep me chuckling all day! I think the general rule of thumb is the burden of responsibility lies on the sponsee… in other words, you need to speak up and ask. That said, I have seen, first hand, plenty of very committed AA members go up to newcomers and ask them if they have a sponsor, and would they want one, so I guess it depends on the quantity of meetings you attend, and the type of people you have in your particular meetings.

    My personal advice: listen to the women who share at the meetings you attend. If you find you are intrigued by what they say, if you have a sense of “that woman has something that I want” then that is someone you want to ask to be your sponsor!

    If you have follow-up questions, I would be happy to communicate off-blog and answer them!

    runningonsober said:
    August 10, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    Geez, I’m stressed just reading your post! Yikes! Glad you made it through, and I hope your dad is ok.

    Josie gave great advice above. Also, you can always ask the meeting chairperson if they will ask, after the announcements, that anyone willing to sponsor, please raise their hand. (This works in a big meeting.) or if you’d rather, you could always share and then close with, “oh by the way, I’m looking for a sponsor” and I bet you’ll have one by the time you leave. 🙂

    Sober Life said:
    August 10, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Wow, that sounded like a crazy day! And I can totally relate, and see my kids doing the same thing! I am glad you made it thur and got to a meeting. And so awesome that you are open to find a sponsor! I have had several, it just so happen that i moved or they did and the fit wasn’t quite right, but I love my current sponsor, she has helped me thru some really tough days! There is an AA pamphlet that explains how it works, you can find it here: http://www.aa.org/pdf/products/p-15_Q&AonSpon.pdf

    -Maggie

Leave a Reply

