observations and inquiries

Posted on

1. Packing and organization for travel NOT hungover or buzzed is much easier.

2. Feel twitchy and a bit edgy today. Also, I am experiencing more cravings than usual. I think part of it is more habit than anything. When I pack, I usually drink and I almost always screw something up. Shocking, right?

3.  I am nervous about our trip. I am visiting my bestie, who is very empathetic and supportive- that visit will be easy. My dad, on the other hand, is a manic, recovered alcoholic. He is loads of fun but hanging out with him is a full time job. Decompression could be an issue. He is also very supportive. I just need to remember to take a break if I need it… He will understand.

4. Why are people posting pictures of beer at 2PM on a freaking Thursday?

5. Does anyone have any input on Melatonin? I am trying it to help with my f-ed sleep issues. So far, so moderately good. I was almost asleep at 12:30 this morning which is an improvement over 4AM…

6. Any thoughts on fun places to go or things to do in SLC or Boise?

 

 

4 thoughts on “observations and inquiries

    Lilly said:
    July 11, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    Just a quick thought… maybe hanging out with your Dad will be extra great right now? If he’s a recovered alcoholic maybe he’ll have some great insights or you’ll connect on a deeper level for talking about it all? I totally understand the family-decompression issue though. I’m scared about seeing mine soon for exactly that reason (ok well and that they also kind of suck and aren’t supportive at all but anyway…). In my experience sober trips are BETTER in reality than imagining. Hope you have a great time.

    Lilly x

    Maya June responded:
    July 11, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    I am hoping for the best. It will be nice to get away from this tiny town and the habits of daily life for awhile. Sorry about your family. I totally understand. My dad and I are enjoying a smooth patch after a lifetime of bumpiness. Maybe he will relish getting a second chance to act like a present and caring parent…

    carrythemessage said:
    July 12, 2013 at 7:53 am

    1. Yes, for sure!
    2. We have lots of associations from our drinking days. I got to a point where breathing was considered reason for drinking. But yes, many of us attach daily and not so daily chores and things with drinking. Drinking while cleaning, reading the paper, making dinner, etc. So yes, it could be one of the “firsts” – first time packing and not drinking. It gets easier, believe me!
    3. Expectations can sometimes lead to resentments or at least disappointment. You are coming off the booze as well, and learning to navigate without alcohol, so while he may understand, there are things on your side which may cause you irritability, etc. So cut yourself and him some slack during this and just have fun 🙂
    4. I wouldn’t have been posting pics…too busy drinking. 🙂
    5. Never used melatonin. Used valerian root. Mild, but effective. Won’t knock you out, but relaxes. I used to use it for panic attacks (during withdrawal) and when I had issues sleeping (this was in the drinking day – since quitting the hooch, I don’t use anything)
    6. No idea 🙂

    Have fun!

    Paul

    El Guapo said:
    July 12, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    Glad you’re getting a vacation, and with people who will support you too.
    Have a blast!

    And packing sucks, no matter what your mental state.

Leave a Reply

